December: Christmas, burnout and lots of singing

I’m trying to think of something to say that doesn’t seem cliche for the last month of the year, but alas, I cannot.

End of the year, and the end of a decade.

I’ve tried to think of it just from one day to the next, but 2020 is set to be a year of change and from December to January feels like a big jump in time – a lot closer to the things happening in 2020!

2019 in numbers…

Films watched for the first time: 74 (first: Skate Kitchen, last: Knives Out)

Favourite: So many good ones! I think my favourite from 2019 has to be Crazy Rich Asians, and my favourite oldie which I saw for the first time was When Harry Met Sally (can you tell I love a rom com?!)

Books read: 33 (first: The Little Village Christmas, last: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows)

Favourite: Gotta be Harry Potter…just don’t make me pick which one

New countries visited: 1, China!

Parkruns run: 23

Miles run: 130

New Year’s resolutions? None.

Here’s what I did…

The first day of December was spent hungover from the hen do featured in my last blog post, and then going to search for sloe berries in an attempt to make my own sloe gin this year. Alas, there was not a good crop this year.

I went to see the wonderful Roo Panes sing his soulful tunes at The Southbank Centre with my friend Iona. It’s a venue I’ve been really keen to see a gig in and it really is a great setting for a concert.

We held a big party at work to celebrate our ‘relaunch’ with a bunch of investors, friends and supporters. Much Prosecco was drunk (in fact I was responsible for going on the alcohol run – picture me walking back and fourth from Sainsbury’s with a cardboard box of booze), speeches were made and pictures taken. Our team proceeded to the pub afterwards to have an early Christmas party and toast all our hard work. Plus we ate a cookie with all our faces on…really.

There was lots of singing in December – Christmas is my favourite time at choir as we get to sing all the joyful Christmas tunes. We had lots of singing gigs this month – our annual busk at the weekly food market, a walking singing tour of the local shops and then a concert with the London Mozart Players at the local church which gave me that wonderful Christmassy feeling. If you need to get into the festive mood, I highly recommend one, and I’m going to try and go to one every year now!

I went to the Vagina Museum with my friend Sophia – where I saw this wonderful Christmas tree!

And of course I voted in the elections…just a shame about the results.

Made it official with the wonderful man that I’ve been seeing that I was fairly tight lipped about last month! His name is Dan and he’s an absolute sweetheart. We’ve not been together for long but feels like we have been already (in a good way!) We had some lovely days out in December like checking out the rides and eating bratwurst at Winter Wonderland and a jam packed day in London which included climbing the 311 steps of The Monument for great views of the city, wandering around the Tate Modern and stuffing our face at The Breakfast Club.

In the week before Christmas, I popped back to my parents for a few days to celebrate my Auntie’s 70th Birthday and look after my nephew. I decided to head back to London for a few days before coming home properly for the Christmas period – the intention being that I’d have a few days for myself before some full on family time. Of course it ended up being three days of jammed packed activities, running around doing various bits and bobs. It did however mean that I got to attend my friend Jane’s Christmas drinks which was a wonderful evening, and she even gifted me a bottle of her delicious homemade chokecherry vodka – yum!

Before getting the train back to Hampshire, I popped down the road to Peckham Rye Parkrun and got a new PB – woohoo!

I went straight from the station to join my Mum, Dad, Sister, Nephew, Auntie, Uncle and Nan for a festive afternoon tea at our favourite local cafe, Austen’s, and then drove to Dan for a games night at his friend’s house (first time meeting them as his girlfriend – eek!) but they were all lovely and we had a great night.

It wasn’t until the next day that I woke up and realised how burnt out I was. I’d been on the verge of tears several times during the week in the lead up to coming home for Christmas. A sour conversation with a friend was the straw that broke the camel’s back and the tears came flowing out of me. Thankfully my Mum and Auntie are really good listeners and comforted me. I spent the rest of the day relaxing and reading which set the tone for my Christmas holidays.

Christmas was spent seeing friends, seeing Dan, spending time with family, lots of lovely countryside walks, jigsaw puzzles and reading.

On Christmas Day, my sister and I went to Hogmoor Parkrun with my sister’s friend (and ended up bumping into my friend Gemma there too) which was so much fun. Everyone was in great spirits, and people brought and shared sloe gin, biscuits and chocolates. Believe it or not, it was the perfect way to start off Christmas Day. My sister, brother-in-law, nephew and Nan joined us for the big day this year – it was nice to have lots of family around.

I also took a social media break over the holidays which was much needed.

Dan’s birthday falls on the same day as Boxing Day, so we celebrated the day after by heading down to Portsmouth- doing a bit of shopping, eating, playing cards in the pub and a trip to the cinema.

For New Year’s we joined a few of Dan’s friends at a house party which was relatively chilled and it was nice to meet more of his friendship group. It was a very a late night though which led to three hours sleep before getting up to run two back-to-back Parkruns with my sister and brother-in-law and then sleeping for the rest of New Year’s Day! But it was great and a huge improvement on last year’s NYD when I was hungover AF and regretting pretty much everything that happened the night before.

I’ve been reading…

Continuing on the Harry Potter theme – finishing off the rest of the series (although I technically didn’t finish it until 2020!) so I read a mix of Half Blood Prince & Deathly Hallows over December.

I wanted to read a cheesy Christmassy novel and found what sounded like the perfect one in a local bookshop called ‘Starry Night‘. Unfortunately it was a bit bland – definitely not as good as The Little Village Christmas which I read last Christmas – and I read it in one sitting!

Want to keep up with what I’m reading? Come follow me on GoodReads.

I’ve been watching…

TV

I was so busy and burnt out this month that by the time I got home for Christmas I couldn’t bare to stare at a screen for more than a couple of minutes – so no TV watched this month!

Film

Pretty much exclusively cinema trips this month – for the same reason as above I have just not been in the mood for watching movies, even the Christmassy ones!

I saw Frozen 2 with my girlfriends at Tottenham Court Road’s Odeon (surprisingly cheap compared to other central London cinemas) and we loved it! Catchy music, great storyline and so hilarious that I was in tears of laughter at one point. Also less annoying the first one, so even if you’re not a Frozen fan you might enjoy this one.

My Mum, sister and I saw Last Christmas at the cinema local to them in my home town (which we have lovingly nicknamed the fleapit, but we love having a cinema in walking distance) and it was so bad it was great. Well that’s what I thought anyway, but Mum and Lina did not like it one bit. It was one big cheesy pizza.

Dan and I went to see Knives Out at Gunwharf Quays (again, very cheap and I’m talking like £4.99) on the Friday after Christmas. It was his pick as it was his birthday the day before, but I was quite keen to see it as well. It was enjoyable, but I thought slightly predictable (whilst most reviews have said it had an unpredictable plot?) Dan enjoyed it more than I did, but I’d say it’s still worth a watch.

Music

I’ve been listening to…

You Send Me – Aretha Franklin

I Like It Like That – Pete Rodriguez

Ocean Eyes – Billie Eilish

Fine Line – Harry Styles > I’ve surprised myself and have absolutely become obsessed with Harry Style’s new album after one of Dan’s friends was playing it at a games night. It has some bangers on it! My favourites are Adore You and Watermelon Sugar.

Looking ahead…

Last month I booked a trip with Srprs.me, which I’ve been wanting to do for AGES; their Black Friday discount finally got me to do it. You give them some details, and for this one I’ve ruled out all the European cities I’ve already been to, and then they book the trip for you. I won’t find out where I’m going until I get to the airport. I’m nervous and excited! I’m doing it solo too for the first time which adds an extra element. I’m kinda hoping wherever they send me has a Parkrun…

Talking of running I’ve booked myself a place in a 10k race in Crystal Palace at the end of the month. I’ve only ever run one 10k, which was with my sister a few months ago, so again I’m both excited and nervous!

Hope you’ve had a great start to 2020 – until next time!

P.S. I met Santa, are you jealous?

 

 

Leave a comment